20130201_091345

Hawaii – Day 1 (Started with a stranger and ended up with bunch of friends)

I made it just in time and it was first time I suppose that I did not have to wait in the queue and got myself checked in quickly. As usual I was travelling with my backpack that makes for the carry on as per its weight (less than 8 Kilogram). Now had to grab some snacks before my flight as it was 6 PM and I didn’t want to end up eating something in the flight that I might not like.  Thats it, plane is flying to Honolulu, Hawaii finally. My holidays started and I am more than relaxed thinking about it. My co-passenger is a girl and we have the seats at the very back of the plane. It’s the first time I was sitting this close to the toilet. Although it was not that bad as I was thinking. Rachel, the girl sitting next to me started talking to me and we had an initial introduction. Not sure it is the usual me or the travelling thing as I went on and on with her and we discussed a lot of things, enough to be friends in future. Also we shared some snacks in the seat between us where fortunately no one was sitting. It was really cool to meet her as we didn’t feel that we were travelling on our own as we couldn’t stop giggling. And than we watched a movie on her laptop with shared pair of headphone. Overall we both cherished the experience we had and start planning to hang out in Honolulu as she was staying there for 3 night. coincidentally we both were staying in the same place so that was easy. We both caught the bus to our place. Shuttle bus is 13 USD since the regular bus is 2.5 USD and you can reach almost all the places in Honolulu. So you can choose the option accordingly.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was staying in ‘Hokondo Waikiki Beachside Hostel’. The staff is very friendly there and they helped us with our backpacks by storing them for us, when we reached there early (directly from the Airport).  It was only then when I realized that my card was not working. New travel card that wasn’t activated yet which was very embarrassing. But the people in the backpacker were friendly and let me check in while I was checking with my bank about the issue. Meanwhile we headed to the beach when I realized it will take few hours to resolve. And there it was the most breathtaking view of the day – beach. Crystal clear blue water..just the most awesome feeling I had that time. We soon jumped into the water for a swim. It took some time before I was able to sort out the issue with my travel money card. Tip – If you are going to buy the travel money card for travelling then do register and check the status and all online to make sure it’s activated by bank as in my case they had forgotten to do so. Finally I checked into my room and met my new roommates including Rachel (girl from the flight). Now it was time to socialize in new place. Fortunately all my roommates (few were missing from the room) were very good and friendly so I didn’t have much trouble making friends. After few hours we headed to get some good food.

Time in Hawaii is 10 hours behind Sydney which makes the next day also 31st January (same day I flew for Hawaii). It is cool as it feels like you have time traveled into the past. You keep thinking that it should be the next day but time wise it is not. It took me a while to get the confusion of date and time out of my system.

We had dinner in Lu-Lu’s, a famous bar and restaurant among backpackers and they have special Tuesday nights in Waikiki beach with 10 USD entry fees. You can go there before 9 PM and get the band for yourself for free and then you don’t have to pay the entry fees when you enter after 9 PM. Few friends of mine did this. I was too busy hanging out with other sets of friends to carry out this. But any ways we had dinner with blue Hawaii cocktail and Pina Colada.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then after returning to the hostel our new roommate shared some very funny and interesting stories of his friends which made it even more fun. A new girl came to share the room by now (we were in the 8 people room, two rooms each with 4 beds). She joined in the discussion and we just loved the evening. After few more drinks we bid goodnight and had a peaceful and relaxing night.

One comment on “Hawaii – Day 1 (Started with a stranger and ended up with bunch of friends)

  1. Pingback: What are my fears? People say I don’t have any…but let’s look at it | Talking Experience

Leave a Reply

