Bhaktapur – A city of festivals and celebrations

Bhaktpur is an ancient Newar town in the east corner of the Kathmandu Valley, Nepal. Many people who go to Kathmandu miss this place. But I would really recommend to visit this 1427 A.D. town that is rich in culture and gives you a feel of the life style at that time. It is called a city of festivals because here people celebrate festivals each month starting from new year to the end of the year.

I would love to live at this place but I only had a day to visit this beautiful enchanting place so I would love to share the pics of this place for your pleasure. I hope it will provide you a window to seek into the past and dream about the life at that era on this part of Earth.

Let's take the journey through the magical world of Bhaktapur

Let’s take the journey through the magical world of Bhaktapur

One regular day in the life of the people living in Bhaktapur

One regular day in the life of the people living in Bhaktapur

 

 

House with a lot of stories to tell

House with a lot of stories to tell

 

People gathered to play cards - Simple life

People gathered to play cards – Simple life

 

Walls older than few hundreds of generations

Walls older than few hundreds of generations

20130317_124901

Temple can be a place to hang out as well

Temple can be a place to hang out as well

 

Lets take a look at the other places now - I love the narrow lanes here as well

Lets take a look at the other places now – I love the narrow lanes here as well

 

Symbol of the security at the door of Kingdom

Symbol of the security at the door of Kingdom

20130317_124548

Temple

Temple

20130317_124439

History speaks through these houses

History speaks through these houses

 

Thinking about the life they have lived and enjoying the evening

Thinking about the life they have lived and enjoying the evening

 

Plenty of space to play

Plenty of space to play

 

 

 

Window to the soul

Window to the soul

 

20130317_125452

 

Other ways of entertainment we miss in the modern world today

Other ways of entertainment we miss in the modern world today

Looking into life

Looking into life

Old but gold

Old but gold

Colorful houses

Colorful houses

Beautiful isn't it...I can't imagine how creative the people were at that time and how much effort they put into making something like this a reality

Beautiful isn’t it…I can’t imagine how creative the people were at that time and how much effort they put into making something like this a reality

Do you want to go up there?

Do you want to go up there?

Did I just disturbed somebody at lunch time?

Did I just disturbed somebody at lunch time?

20130317_132906 20130317_132948

Lord Shiva

Lord Shiva

20130317_134012

Sky high Tower

Sky high Tower

That the way you feel in here...all colorful and cheerful

That the way you feel in here…all colorful and cheerful

Wo...some of them were creative in a bit scary way I felt...what do you think??

Wo…some of them were creative in a bit scary way I felt…what do you think??

20130317_141715 20130317_135323 20130317_134420 20130317_134449

Welcome

Welcome

20130317_141645 20130317_140700 20130317_135049 20130317_134158 20130317_134044 20130317_140318 20130317_134457

Lord Ganesha ...just in a different role here

Lord Ganesha …just in a different role here

Would you like to decorate your house with these?

Would you like to decorate your house with these?

High as sky

High as sky

20130317_130322

Gallery of amazing things

Gallery of amazing things

20130317_142700 20130317_142038 20130317_141736

That's the main square now

That’s the main square now

Love these pieces of art, used to fill water in old times, and here still are

Love these pieces of art, used to fill water in old times, and here still are

20130317_131235 20130317_130807

62 comments on “Bhaktapur – A city of festivals and celebrations

    • Thank you so much dear for your wonderful words as its great to hear that you enjoyed this post and saw this place through my eyes 🙂

      God bless you and I love your blog and the way you have talked about spirituality in it as I am following the path of self discovery in this phase of my life and it helps to read it.

      regards,
      Kavita

      • Thank you! Viewing your photographs speaks of the ancient spirit that flows within the arts, the buildings, the fabric of women’s clothing, the pots, the spiritual flows through all expression. I love especially the statuaries of the temples in your posts!!!!

    • Awe dear….you made my day saying that..its really nice to know what you really liked about this post and in your creative and poetic way I think you have said the best thing I could imagine…Its a great thing to hear it from you. Once again thanks a lot for your kind words 🙂

  1. An amazing tour. A wonderful tribute to the unknown and forgotten artisans, carpenters, craftsmen and architects that created those buildings. It is sometimes too easy just to skim over a photo and forget about how all that beauty came into being. Thanks for the reminder!

    • Thanks a lot for your precious thoughts dear Kenneth. I really appreciate and you are so right that it is so valuable in today’s time that we connect to things from the past and try to create something for next few generations so that they can understand our lives and our thinking in a better way. Its amazing to see how life was almost 500 years ago and how much change has come into our lives.

      I am glad that you enjoyed it dear 🙂

  2. Your photographs are fabulous! I’m green with envy that I can’t see them in person. It made me feel as though I could just reach out & touch the places, the buildings… Truly astonished.

    • Awe…isn’t that sweet of you to say that…I would take it as a compliment and yes try to touch them from there 🙂 I know what you mean though..I feel like that when I see the paintings or photographs and I just imagine being there and at times it gives me the moment of joy to be able to reach there and feel the place 🙂

      Thanks once again for stopping by dear 🙂

  3. Hi Kavita ,exceptionally great post ,the pictures ,the details ,the background, and your great work.Thank you for the visit.Greeting ljalal

  4. Wow, what a cool experience. Nepal is quickly moving to the top of my “must-see” list, so I’ll be sure to add Bhaktapur to the list.

    Thanks for stopping by and following my blog. I hope you enjoy the journey.

  5. I have always been in love with ancient art ..and in these art pieces the ethnicity and culture is depicted so beautifully..They are fab…very well captured pics

  6. My husband had spent a night at Bhaktapur many years ago, and he still raves about it. The feel of everything ancient, and to live in an environment that certainly does not feel of the 21st century! Looking at your post really makes me want to make a trip there son!! 🙂

  7. I can imagine that it can happen to people that once you go there you always remeber that place for its serenity and specially when your husband has spend one day and a night there as I was there for few hours only but was felt disappointed that I was not able to live there instead of Kathmandu 🙂

    All the best..hope you can plan some time to go there ….thanks for sharing it dear and do let me know whenever you go there…looking forward to hear from you 🙂

    Have a lovely day!

    Regards,
    Kavita

    • Thanks Steph..Nice to see your nice comment here …it was an amazing time…and its tought to settle back in normal life now 🙂

      Have a good day ahaed dear..Keep in touch 🙂

  8. Your photography is beautiful, rich in color, and fabulous in culture! I enjoy the photos of the people’s activities in and around the area. The stones look incredible as well. Thanks for sharing!

    • Hi Jack,

      First of all thanks for stopping by and thanks for showing appreciation for my efforts here. I am glad that you enjoyed the pics. This was just an effort to share my experience with you.

      Have a wonderful day! And yes I have got more pics to share here just waiting to get some time to upload the pics from my travelling.

      Regards,
      Kavita

    • nice….Nepal is an awesome place and wow you spend 3 months there…I wish I could spend so much time…next time as I am thrilled to do those long 12-13 days walks and see more of Nepal …thanks for checking out my blog dear…have a wonderful day and I would be checking ur blog meanwhile

  9. Lik i always held, travel is more than just seeing exotic locales. Its experiencing the culture, tradition and way of life of the people in these exotic locales. Loved the bronze tone.

  10. We happened to be lucky enough to spend one night in Bhaktapur, we absolutely loved it! People watching early in the morning was great! We hope to make it back with our daughter soon.

    • very nice to hear from you dear…that’s awesome that you stayed there as I missed that opportunity as it must be very spiritual and beautiful there in the early morning…hope you go there again …and do let me know how was it this time 🙂 Thanks a lot for stopping by…I am browsing your blog and enjoy it …your daughter is soooo cute…

      • Thanks for visiting our blog and for the kind words! Nepal is a place that has stayed with us long after we left! I think we need to explore this region of the earth a little more. It seemed we were the only westerners in Bhaktapur from Night til about 8 the next morning, it was nice to walk amongst local folks going about daily chores 🙂

        • oh great I know when you say walking with locals..isn’t it a great feeling sometimes not to feel like a tourist and be a part of the place and culture where you are travelling…I love your blog and posts and will keep an eye on them in future…Thank you to write here as it means a lot..and hope to stay in touch with you in future as well dear…its always so nice to meet amazing people like you and hear their travel experiences… 🙂 God bless you!

  11. Thank you for visiting my blog and glad you liked the “About”. I visited your blog and enjoyed the beautiful photos very much. Wish you a great success in your life’s endeavor.

Leave a Reply

