My promise to myself for 5 years to live life fully: First installment is here already – Bucket List 2013

DSC09981

Hi All,

No I didn’t hide myself after talking about my bucket-list. I am ready with few things as of now ๐Ÿ˜‰

I have an outline of 5 years plan to complete as many things in my wish list as possible – My promise to myself for 5 years to live life fully. And you know what I will be so used to of doing it that I would never stop after that. So sushh..its a smart plan right ๐Ÿ˜‰

First I want to make a quick year plan that I have thought from now to end of this year – as many things as I can try to do this year.

A lot of things in my wishlist require intense travelling and I want to get few other things done before I go for few years travelling. So why not explore Australia. I had two thoughts one for 5 years plan and another one for this year to get myself started as soon as possible.

Here is a table that I made at a very high level as it would need fewย iterationย before reaching to a final list and more items in each category with more accurate tasks. All I am trying to do is balance it in a way that I am taking care of my complete well-being. Do tell me your idea about my planning and if there is something you like here or don’t like. I am open to all your thoughts here.

Mind

  • Travel
  • Peace
  • Achievements
  • Adventure
  • Knowledge
  • Learning
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Yoga
  • Pursue hobbies
  • Create new hobbies
  • Doing new things

Body

  • Exercise
  • Dancing
  • Food
  • Rest
  • Nourishment
  • Healing

Soul

  • Travel
  • Learn new culture
  • See new places
  • Self Awareness
  • Learn about various religions

Society

  • Making friends
  • Meeting new people
  • Volunteer
  • Making contact and change something in their life
  • Blogging
  • Government

Miscellaneous

  • Get P driver licence
  • Continue with blogging
  • Make a plan to write a book
  • Learn new skills

Now here is my list for this year. I have this rough draft and as I would like to keep around 50 items so I might need to cross some of these and add few new. Although I will try to come up with the final list in few weeks time.

  1. Start learning Spanish
  2. Go on a short road trip
  3. Run a half-marathon
  4. Visit at least 7 cities of Australia in next 7 months
  5. Attend a concert
  6. Try caving – Jenolan Caves in Sydney
  7. Learn dancing – Preferably street dancing or salsa
  8. Try stand up paddling
  9. Read at leastย 1 famous book
  10. Try couch surfing in Australia
  11. Plan for New Year and Christmas in Miami and Los Angeles
  12. Cruise โ€“ Weekend may be at least
  13. Try at least 10 different cuisines
  14. Get P driver licence
  15. Get more active with blogging โ€“ redesign the site
  16. Make a plan to write a book
  17. Learn about a country in Europe โ€“ culture, food etc
  18. Sing Karaoke
  19. Attend bloggerโ€™s event
  20. Do at leastย few things living a high life
  21. Eat in one of the best restaurant each month
  22. Swim with Crocodile
  23. Swim with White Sharks
  24. Learn to ski
  25. Visit atleast oneย historical town in Australia
  26. Learn martial arts
  27. Get my weight back to 47 KG
  28. Learn to say โ€œHelloโ€ in at least 20 language
  29. Go Handgliding/ Microlight Flight
  30. Practice Indoor Rock Climbing
  31. Canyoning
  32. Dive and snorkel the Great Barrier Reef
  33. Go on a multiple day hikes
  34. Volunteer
  35. Jetpack Ride
  36. Visit Twin Falls at Kakadu National Park
  37. Swim at a fake beach: Brisbane
  38. Visit one of these – Cradle Mountain / Wineglass Bay /Bay of Fires inย Launceston, Tasmania
  39. Learn to sail in the worldโ€™s best harbor: Darling Harbour
  40. Enjoy tacos and margaritas with a new friend: Sydney
  41. Go for Hot Air Balooning
  42. Watch an open air cinema
  43. Complete Advanced Scuba diving course
  44. Participate in making a short film
  45. Write 50 Poems
  46. Have a schooner at Australiaโ€™s oldest pub: Fortune of War pub, Sydney
  47. ย Climb the coathanger, Sydney Harbour bridge
  48. Send one article to get published
  49. Overcome one fear
  50. Do one thing new each week

Do write something even if some thing funny or serious as that way I would know where my list took your mind ๐Ÿ˜‰

84 comments on “My promise to myself for 5 years to live life fully: First installment is here already – Bucket List 2013

  1. Well, I’ll tell ya, you’re doing a fabulous job of it so far. I saw all your skydiving, bungee jumping self, they are awesome photos! Congrats! Keep up enjoy your day as if it were your last!

    • Hey Jack, good to see you here mate…thanks a lot dear for saying that ..quiet motivating to hear that..I know those were fun and now this year brings some more adventure I hope..You too have an awesome day and week my dear friend…what would be 5 things you would love to do if get a chance..just anything random..tell me I would love to know ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Top five things? I’ve thought about this, Kavita. Actually, I took the better part of all last year thinking about this very thing. I came up with an all-encompassing mission statement: To be the best person I can possibly be for those who are in need.

        That really is about it. I live every day as if it were my last and try to treasure every moment! Silly, isn’t it? But seriously, I know when my mind is focused on the hear-and-now, I’m a better person for it (whether it’s riding a roller coaster with one of my kids at Canada’s Wonderland, or riding a helicopter over Niagara Falls). Every day is a different challenge that I want to live to the fullest!

        Make sense?

        • Totally make sense and you know what you really don’t need a list as you are already living life fully and in present I feel…such a live personality you are..I love this blogging place where I come across amazing people like you are…really I feel so inspired reading this reply of yours as that’s what I am trying to practice as of now – to live in the present …although the other part – live as if its your last day, is not quiet on track to be honest as doing mundane thing every day is not quiet my idea of living fully but we got to do it anyways as essentials at times….lovely to hear back from you really and keep in touch as I might need a lot of this motivation in future to finish this bucket list of mine .. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Bravo for you for even having a list. Most of us sit around wishing, dreaming and hoping one day we will experience just a handful on your list. Life is meant to be lived and I believe it should be lived to the fullest. Making a list is a great idea so you can check them off as you go. Good for you!

    • Thank you Michelle for all those nice words you just said. I hope I live the life as you believe – to the fullest ! You are right that its easy with a list at least it defines what can be done in defined period and help measuring the same….I would share how it goes and would love to hear more from you dear…Have a wonderful day!

      • I think that is a fantastic idea. You will definitely hear from me I tend to not stay every quiet unless I’m sleeping. Keeping promises to ourselves is very important I have found in my life. If you leave yourself out then eventually you get left out. Have a super day yourself!!!!

    • Thanks Mujiono, I would need all the wishes it takes to get all these done really ..lol I will be sharing my experiences on the way so watch out.. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Have a wonderful day dear! Talk to you soon…

  3. This list is great! I am very impressed with your adventurous spirit. However, swimming with crocs and sharks??? Couldn’t you just admire them from afar ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • hehehe….true dear..I do like them from far but I think this is more about overcoming my fear and get that thrill which I might only get by doing this stuff…thanks dear…I am glad that you like my list ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Not really dear…but partly yes in case you talk about blogging or volunteer…but nothing I would do as repeat of things I have already done…I can promise that as it’s not a challange otherwise really ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks swthrt for your comment and I would love to hear back from you more while I share my journey with you my friend!

  4. izzat troo? yoove dunn most the list awlreadee? (so asks renxkyoko).
    neverTHEless, it’s impressive and more impressive is that it certainly seems you don’t merely “put it out there” but WILL undoubtedly do as much as you can. ยฟcouch surfing in australia? and … don’t swim wif da sharx — if i just go into the water and think there might be sharks, THAT’s brave enuff for me!

    • Hey Betunada, My friend above is right in a way that some of the items are generic but I would make sure that I do everything in the list as something new in life…as that’s all it is about – changing my life for good…hehehehe…I know I am looking forward to meet the sharks..I am going to freak out a little I know but I wish to survive..lol…

      Have an awesome day my dear friend! Also stay tuned as I will be sharing my journey with you ๐Ÿ™‚ And would love to hear back from you on this.

    • Thanks a lot dear…yes I guess its time to start the adventure I have been waiting for ๐Ÿ˜‰ I would share all the snapshots of this experience as how it is going as well ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much for reading my list dear…as I would need your support to finish this ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. You are so full of life and energy! All I can say is ‘go get em, Tiger!’ Kavita, do you have any fears to conquer? We’ve seen you doing all kinds of extreme sports and now you want to swim with crocodiles and sharks! You don’t fool me, you’re fearless!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Seriously though, a great list, I know you’ll achieve so much as you have done already! xx
    Btw, have you heard of this site: http://www.43things.com/ you might find something interesting there ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Are you sure you’re going to get this all done in a year? LOL Jill’s question is a good one. I think that pertains to #49 – Overcome one fear. Perhaps you can write a post about the fears you have? Because some of us have no idea what they are. Then we can all share our fears to see what we have in common. ๐Ÿ˜€ FYI, I am a very cautious person and am not one for adventure, but I did muster my courage and went parasailing in Cancun back in 1986 or 1987. Despite the anxiety I felt, the view was absolutely gorgeous and not one I will ever forget. Do make sure to do that one if you can.

    • Hey Chandan you know what..you just gave me an awesome idea and guess what I just wrote an article on it….here it is:
      https://talkingexperience.wordpress.com/2013/05/07/what-are-my-fears-people-say-i-don't-have-any-but-lets-look-at-it/
      Now you can tell me how you like it. And yes I have some of these already covered in my planning like: travel and eating out and few others. But yes it’s a wish list and it will make sure my creative and adventurous edge doesn’t die out even living a routine life so I will try my level best to do them…And regarding your query about fear I would love to share your opinion there on my post ๐Ÿ™‚
      I love the idea of para-sailing really and have done paragliding but would be amazing to do para-sailing. And I know what you mean as I did bungy jumping and that was scary but the views were awesome. So over all I enjoyed it.
      Thanks a lot for sharing your views dear…would love to hear more from you…

      • Hi Kavita.

        Wonderful! I will certainly make it a point to check that article and give you my comments as soon as I can. I think it took a lot to put that up there, but this is how we get to know one another, imperfections and all. Iโ€™m sure I may find something I can relate to, which I wonโ€™t hesitate to share if I do. Iโ€™m looking forward to reading it and learning more about you. Perhaps tonight after I get off from work and finish my โ€œsecond shiftโ€ at home. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Have a great rest of the day, and I will talk to you soon!

  7. Pingback: What are my fears? People say I don’t have any…but let’s look at it | Talking Experience

  8. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 Week 1 – One item complete with few fun days | Talking Experience

  9. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 Week 1 โ€“ Belgian Beer and a Girl with a hood | Talking Experience

  10. I have just finished reading this one and I must say You are really an energetic person to look upon. You have choose a gargantuan task, and I wish you Godspeed. Just wanted to know the current status of your endeavour.
    I’ll certainly read the other post of your bucketlist, depending upon the availability of time.
    From the post, I came to know that you dwell in Australia. What do you do there?
    I mean, do you have enough time to do all these desired things.
    take care
    Harshit Chauhan

    • Oh dear..that is not a good news..although I would do it in safer environment and for fun not for life threatening situtation I hope ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I should be fine if it’s not my time to go and see God and I will bring you some fun stories about the same

    • Yes that is a very good idea Joe..I might try to do that..although I would like to buy some flexibilty at the moment because I have a lot of things on my plate currently ..so much that at times I hardly have time to even stop and think …I know it sounds hectic but I need this month to sort few things as I have been involved in many things which I will share soon with u here on my blog ๐Ÿ™‚ And next month I will try to come up with a plan with timeline dear…

      thank you so much for the comment and advice ,…means a lot to me ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 Week 2 โ€“ Bridge Climb, social event and a lot more | Talking Experience

  12. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 Week 3 โ€“ Sailing Lesson | Talking Experience

  13. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 Week 4 โ€“ WordPress 10th Anniversary (Blogger’s Event) | Talking Experience

  14. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 Week 3 โ€“ | Talking Experience

  15. That’s an incredible list. I wonder how will you manage all the time and money to accomplish your bucket list resolutions.lol. You must indeed be the richest of the rich personalities existing on the earth. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • hehehe…I think where there is a will there is a way…and depends upon the priorities as well my friend…people who do stuff don’t have enough money as they spend it all..lol But if you really want to do something then you always find a way to do it..and that’s what I feel in life

  16. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 Week 5 โ€“ Spanish Food with Sangria and a fun run | Talking Experience

    • Oh in Australia when you start driving then you get L (Learner’s) then you need to move to Red and Green P and then fianlly full License. I did have a license back in India but I wanted to learn more here so got my L and need to move to P so that I don’t have to have some one sitting next to me for me to be able to drive here….And yes I am working full time ..that’s the challange dear as I am juggling a good life and work life both ๐Ÿ™‚ Its awesome roller coaster ride I would say

  17. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 Week 15 โ€“ 7 places traveled in 3 months rather than 7 months | Talking Experience

  18. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 Week 15 โ€“ 7 places traveled in 3 months rather than 7 months | Talking Experience

  19. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 Week 18 โ€“ Swim with Crocodile and Visit Kakadu National Park | Talking Experience

  20. Oh, Kavita (I am wondering how you pronounce that lovely name), I absolutely adore how you broke your list up into “categories.” I believe you have to nurture all areas to remain truly happy and balanced. Good luck on your list. I just “found” you but I’ll be a-following along!

    • Hey dear…thanks a lot for such kind and warm words….it’s an Indian word..and I am happy that you like it my friend…so nice to meet you here…thanks again for writing and following .wish you a happy emotion for the week from me ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 Week 20 โ€“ Write 50 poems | Talking Experience

  22. Pingback: Bucket-list 2013 week 15 โ€“ Participate in making a short film | Talking Experience

  23. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 โ€“ Sing Karaoke | Talking Experience

  24. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 โ€“ Canyoning | Talking Experience

  25. Pingback: Oh my Gosh..its my birthday now and another year has passed so I want to say thank you :) | Talking Experience

Leave a Reply

