Is it the truth we are seeing or is it our own reflection

I was sitting in the bus on my way to the place I was staying. I casually looked outside the window and took my camera to take some picture out of boredom. But guess what I think it kicked some thought process the moment I saw the first picture I took. It was like the truth of life – we see others with a layer of our perception of the world. These pictures were showing me the way we look at life – with our perception of other things. We always have a layer just like these rain drops when we see this world and people in it. We need to change that as reality is not always as we see it.

How can we do it? That’s a good question as it might sound very difficult to do in many ways as we are what we are with our perceptions really. I would give some tips on this. Try to detach yourself emotionally from things, places, people and then see things as a third person. As the same person has a different image for different people around. How come that is possible that a person is bad for you and good for someone else at the same time. This means we need to change the way we see things if we really want to know the truth. Same goes for ourselves as we can feel that we are awesome whereas others might have totally different perception of ourselves. For example when I was in college I used to be a book worm and I used to listen to my parents all the time so I had this good image of myself. Whereas the other students in the class felt I was very rude as I was always studying and never interacted much with others. It was only very late when I got feedback from people who came to know me quiet well that how I was perceived around the others in the college. Nothing I could do about it as it was the time we left college anyways. But now I look back and feel that I have changed myself a lot and now I get the feedback saying that I come across a very friendly and confident person, even though I feel at times that I am introvert sometimes.

It can be really hard to see the reality most of the times as we are human beings and are full of various emotions. Emotions make that extra layer on top of our perceptions. So all we need to do is try to see ourselves being a friend as that will help overcoming the emotions first and then we will get more freedom around ourselves to see things more clearly. Do let me know what do you feel or think when you see rain?

20130531_120347

World is moving with the speed of light and I am sitting here using my brain to match with it..lol

 

20130531_120413

This is the view through rain and make me feel that how different the world looks really

20130531_120657

Tragedy doesn’t care for weather really

20130531_120811

Would you like a cup of coffee

20130531_120823

20130531_120926

Some one is waiting at home for the vegetables I just bought, only if I reach home quickly

20130531_121014

In safe hands

 

20130531_121034

Going to work

20130531_121038

20130531_121128

20130531_121135

20130531_121138

20130531_121238

Rain drops πŸ™‚

20130531_121256

28 comments on “Is it the truth we are seeing or is it our own reflection

  1. I love the rain, even though most around me complain when there is too much of it. I like to think that rain washes away the dirt and leaves things clean and hydrated. I love how rain drops can distort images and soften focus. When light sparkles off or through the rain, it creates beautiful colors from something that looks color-less. Rain is just another filter we can use to see the world with and our perceptions are our reality.

  2. Kavita,here is a rainy quote.
    β€œYou say that you love the rain, but you open your umbrella when it rains. You say that you love the sun, but you find a shadow spot when it shines. You say that you love the wind, but you close the windows when it blows. This is why I’m afraid, you said that you love me too.” – Shakespeare

  3. I miss the rain, living in a desert. When I lived where it rained quite often was depressing sometimes. Funny how we do not realize the beauty in a raindrop until you very rarely see it.

  4. A thought-provoking post with great photos. I have found in trying to alter my perspective, take out the word but and replace it with and–it opens up our perspective rather than limit it.

  5. I get the feedback saying that I come across a very friendly and confident person, even though I feel at times that I am introvert sometimes. I’m nodding here, because people say the same about me. I truly am a shy person. I’m fine talking to people one on one, but ask me to talk to a group…YIKES!
    These are truly wonderful photos Kavita! They’re just beautiful. Thank you for taking them and sharing them with us.

    • awe..we so much share the same opinion in this dear Lyn…I am not the person who would prefer to talk in a group really and I am much more like a one to one as well…I feel much more connected when I talk one to one and that’s what makes me feel more who I am as well…I do not like to just say something have no idea what the audience think of it…also with family it’s different may be because I already have one to one connection with them and I kind of know them well in advance…I am glad that you enjoyed the pics I have taken Lyn… πŸ™‚ It was a rainy day in Adelaide but these pics made it worth really even just sitting in the bus and doing not much πŸ™‚

  6. Our perceptions of ourselves are often different from the perspectives others have of us. The dichotomy can be surprising.

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I appreciate it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

