Pub Crawl just after I quit drinking : Bucket-List 2013 Week 6

Hi All,

I am back with some stories now. We did have a night filled with fun but it was funny because I had organized this pub crawl when the same day I quit drinking. Can you believe that I had no drinks all night but just juice in a pub crawl 😉 Yes sounds weird but what could I do as I just quit drinking a day before. It was heaps of fun tough.

IMGP1719

Item Number #50 – Do one thing new each week (this week it was organizing a pub crawl after quitting drinking)

Now you must be wondering why I quit drinking. Yes, there is a reason behind it but more than that a thought was lingering in my mind whenever I crossed a bar and smelled alcohol it didn’t really make me feel good. I didn’t really liked the smell and also the day I quit, night before that I had enough and got myself into trouble as my vision was blurred out after 4-5 drinks and when I tried to catch a bus I had no clue where I was after getting dropped at some point that night. First time after drinking I was scared to death and lost with a dead battery. After wondering on the road for few hours I gave up. Cried a lot thinking how could I be so stupid, really it was some awful hours of my life. Not that I was ever an alcoholic but this day I did realize that drinking with newly made friends can be dangerous as you can be in trouble and be on your own. It was silly of me to get drunk and no dinner contributed to it. But that’s it after the cops saw me and helped me by first comforting me by talking nicely and asking if I need help and then getting me home safely. I then had to think the next day why I even drink. I know I could just drink a little bit less but still I had to give it a thought specially when I am going through this self-realization phase and questioning the things I do in my everyday life without even thinking at times. So it was the time I had to re-think the reasons I was drinking even if it was once a month or once a week.

My life does look perfect to many but trust me it is not. No one is perfect, all we can try to do are the things to make it better and somewhat right in our own perception as the same thing can be wrong in some one else’s perception. So here I was, thinking about how I started drinking and it was for social reasons and it always made easier to get along with people at times while travelling by giving me more confidence to speak my mind. Next I thought I was drinking as I wanted to know how different drinks taste and I did enjoy that to be honest. I tried more than 50 different cocktails last year. And it was really good and I did learned a lot more about wines and bears although I don’t like any bear other than German and Belgian. And what else were the reasons for me to drink, yes one more – I always came back alive with some really adventurous stories after more than a few drinks. Yes, I did swim in the ocean couple of times after drinking and came back alive. There is something about the water that makes me feel its calling me specially when I am too drunk….lol I now sounds really funny or weird I guess. I can’t explain as it does make me feel different and very deep inside when I hear the waves even when sober and I guess many will agree. Anyways so this was it. I had tried many drinks already so not a dire need to do it more, I have enough confidence to talk to any one around now and say whatever I think really and I think people converse better when they are sober anyways. I don’t feel weird dancing without any drinks either now. And adventure I do more without getting drunk anyways so that reason also is not required. So here it was I quit drinking.

2013-05-21 18.28.51 2013-06-07 19.15.29 2013-06-07 19.16.05 2013-06-07 19.28.46

Although every now and then I do think what I might miss if I go to Octoberfest one day 🙂 But never mind it was never a part of my life I really cherish so I can spare myself any more trouble due to it. And you know what I feel really good and proud to take this decision now.

So here I was with bunch of friends on a pub-crawl. I did have to order cranberry juice as it does looks like vodka mix so no body stare at you thinking what are you doing in pub or bar with juice in your hand. Some people do that at times though. I had a list of 7 famous bars that day and it went really well as we visited 6 of them and girls loved it. And it was something I laughed about later as every time I was telling the bar man to give me juice and also saying I just quit yesterday so no alcohol for me please. And some people just loved hearing this as they were not drinking behind the bar anyways.

So here was the last week activity which I would count as something new for the week under my bucket list. Also here is the list of some awesome pubs in Sydney if you are around.

  1. DeVine, 32 Market St, Sydney 2000
  2. Baxter Inn, 156 Clarence Street, Sydney 2000
  3. Mojo Record Bar, 73 York St , Sydney 2000
  4. Stitch Bar, 61 York St, Sydney 2000
  5. Palmer and Co, Abercrombie Ln, Sydney 2000
  6. The Morrison Bar and Oyster Room, 225 George St, Sydney 2000
  7. Blu Bar On 36, 36/176 Cumberland St, Sydney NSW 2000
22 comments on “Pub Crawl just after I quit drinking : Bucket-List 2013 Week 6

  1. You can do it . It will a breeze to you. You are a very disciplined person. It takes a lot of guts and discipline to do all the things you’ve been doing… you’re amazing.

    • Thank you so much Ren this means a lot to me…and usually I do dry July for last two years but this is like dry year after year…so I am happy to read your comment really…its pretty motivating I must say 🙂

  2. You can still have loads of fun even if you don’t drink! I find that I enjoy my evenings a lot more and dont wake up in the morning regretting things that I have said just because a glass of wine gave me the courage to do so. Congratulations, after a while it will not even feel like you want a drink, just keep at it!!

    • Thanks a lot for such motivating words dear..I am trying to remember this every time I go out although it’s silly to think about drinks more when I quit thought I feel sometimes…I am happy to hear this from you as it will keep me going and a few months and then I can say that I don’t drink any more successfully 🙂

      Have a wonderful day dear! Thanks a lot for writing here dear as it is really really motivating 🙂

    • thanks a lot dear… I am grateful for that as I am safe really …I really feel that I should not be stupid enough to do anything like that any more ….thanks for your wishes dear..it means a lot to me as it’s a new resolution and new new life I am walking towards 🙂 Have a wonderful day dear!

  3. Pingback: Turkish Delight and Tacos with a new Friend : Bucket-List 2013 Week 7 | Talking Experience

  4. I’ll never forget attending a wedding a decade ago asking for a virgin Sex on the Beach’s. My parents thought I was loading down the cocktails not knowing it had 0% alcohol. So when I danced later on in the evening, they thought I was drunk as a skunk. Wow, isn’t it amazing how people come to wild conclusions only by sight?

    • hehehe..so true dear…that was one funny incident that you shared with us…it has happened to me as well when I had would laugh too much on some joke because of my own thoughts around it then my friends would think that I am on drugs or something or I am drunk..that happens even when I am very happy and make silly jokes my friends still think I might be drunk or something..lol

Leave a Reply

