20130618_140406

Why do I travel?

As a human I am gifted with different senses, emotions and witty nature. I was thinking today to write few reasons why do I love travelling. I felt that it’s the basic need for me to feel human and it is something that keeps me in touch of reality. So I am writing the reasons here in my way – Why do I travel?

  • Eyes: I have been gifted with these eyes to see everyday so I want to see what ever this world has to offer. I can choose on my way to close my eyes when I do not want to witness the cruelty of others but I can still look into other’s eyes with compassion and love. I want to express myself to as many people as I can and try to know them better.
  • Skin: We have this amazing ability to feel the touch, I want to feel like a kid again and close my eyes to feel the sensation of touching something different and new everyday. I want to touch the rock in a different country, I want to take sand in my hands and see it getting washed away with water.
  • Ears: I have ears to hear so I want to indulge myself into the music of various kind. I want to hear others to know what they have to say. I want to hear the noise and voice of wildlife creatures. I want to listen to the waves soaring, rivers roaring and wind blowing.
  • Mouth: I want to talk to people from different part of the world. I want to hear how they speak their language and how they pronounce different words. I want to try and speak their language if I can.
  • Lips: I want to smile as much as I can as its the simplest act that can do wonders I feel.
  • Legs: I have been given these legs to be mobile so no reason for me to crib and sit at one place all day. I want to walk around the cities, villages, towns, forests and run in the farms, hike the mountains and drag myself to bed 🙂
  • Tongue:  Why restrict myself from the distinct taste that various cuisines have to offer. I want to immerse myself in the nice aroma of the food all over the world.
  •  Nose: I want to smell the flowers, water, wet soil, farms, food and much more all over the world. 
  • Hands: I want to give a helping hand to someone in need when I travel. I want to shake hands and make new friends. I want to give a hug to someone close to my heart. I want to a gesture of friendliness to strangers.
  • Brain: I want to use it more into creating new ideas, solving problems at hand while travelling. I want to innovate and think new concepts to make every one around happy.
  •  Heart: I want to love myself and others. I want to love nature, love the wildlife, love people. I want to stop being choosy and love unconditionally.
  •  Soul: I want to give peace to my soul. I do not want to bother my soul from the nitty gritty of life but I rather would like to relax and be happy.

 All this happens naturally when I travel. I feel closer to myself and closer to nature when I travel. 

I would summarise it in one line what it means to travel for me – ‘I finally found myself after getting completely lost’. Now that I have found myself I do not want to loose sight of it even for a moment.

I believe that we have been gifted with this beautiful planet that we call Earth. It is so big and full of wonders then why not explore it while we are on this journey of life. Why not get to know how it feels to get up every day and see a new view from the window. Why limit ourselves because the possibilities are limitless. Let’s travel or at least see the world with new eyes and accept ourselves with big and open heart with love, compassion and kindness. You don’t have to travel to far away places to do any of this if that’s what limiting you but you can rather adopt the thinking of a traveller and you will be able to see the same place you walk everyday with new eyes, you will be able to walk to work and will be able to see more, you will be able to explore new parks around the corner, natural resources for your new found happiness. I think you can change the world if you change yourself for good. Use your imagination to create a happy world out there and to do that just create a happy place inside and you will see the world changing outside at the same time.

19 comments on “Why do I travel?

  1. 🙂 hehe….that was the first thought that came to my mind as well when I saw the picture. Good handwriting indeed. My favourite reasons from this list are- skin & soul. I believe we all have a kid’s persona inside and it’s important to be that kid sometimes in life. Finding peace for inner soul is difficult though but not impossible.That kid in us can help us get that:)

    • thanks Shweta…very sweet of you to say that ..yes I was thinking about it and these thoughts came to my mind and felt like sharing with all 🙂 And it is so true that we loose that child in ourselves and become so serious when we grow up 😦

  2. Very nice account of why we do this. Love this bit “‘I finally found myself after getting completely lost’. Now that I have found myself I do not want to loose sight of it even for a moment.” Really well said.

    • Thanks dear…I thought of writing about this and this line summarized it completely just in one sentence as that’s how I really feel 🙂 I am really glad that you like it…as it means a lot 🙂

  3. Your ‘One Line’ is powerful as you realise. Only by tasting danger do you discover what safety means. Experience is a treasure often earned through difficulty, but that is what makes it so precious don’t you think

  4. “I felt that it’s the basic need for me to feel human and it is something that keeps me in touch of reality”. I thought that was the heart of your desire to travel and for so many things

    • Thanks dear…yes and when I am living this daily life I feel more like a robot performing same tasks every day with no creativity involved at times…..I think you are right this is the desire of my heart really 🙂 And yes everything I do does reflect this as well.. thanks for reminding me dear…I love to read more and more about it really as it ignites the passion every time I think about it and makes my vision more clear as to what I want to do with my life 🙂

  5. Good to see that you are back from a sabbatical, even though its euphemistically called “completely lost” :-). Wonderful writing and thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

