Concussion on a Ski Trip – Lost few memories but gained many more

‘What am I doing here and how did I got here?’ This was my first question when I found myself in this windy and cold place where there was snow all around me. I felt like it was a dream and all I remember was that everything was black & white and no colors at all. There was this guy who was helping me to get up and all I could say was – ‘How do I know you?‘ It felt a bit awkward but I did ask how did I meet him and where? It then occurred to me that I do not remember a lot of things – for example I had no memory of getting here at the top of this mountain, in the midst of snow. It started to scare me a little and that’s when this guy asked me to ski down when and I thought it’s a dream so I didn’t take it seriously and skied down straight and fast. Again I have no memory about what happened after that. Next thing I remember is that this guy was taking me to this cafe and asking everyone where he can find a medical personnel. It started to scare me now as I told him that I am fine and we can go and have coffee or something but he insisted on taking me to a doctor and we finally found a medical room and he left. I felt bad as he was nice and the only person I knew for at least few minutes of whatever memory I was left with.

I was then asked a lot of questions from the doctor. I did remember that I am from Sydney but had no clue what I am doing here or even where I am. It scared me a little but soon my fear was replaced by curiosity of seeing so many medical personnel around me asking me so many questions and making calls. I kept seeing new faces for a while before I fainted for a while again and they woke me up quick enough as that was the most dangerous state I could be after the concussion I had I was told. Now I knew what had happened to me – Concussion. So here I was lying in the medical room till they arrange to take me to the hospital in the town. Now the issue was they couldn’t take me back via lift as there was a chance that I had broken something around my neck due to the pain I had in my head and neck. So they decided to ski me down in a body bag (as my friend called it later). I felt like a dead person every time she reminded me that I was brought to hospital in a body bag. Here is a picture of how they usually ski injured people. I was in the similar situation as well with a lot of snow on my face till I got to the bottom with my heart pumping hard every time I would see the slopes they were going through and the edges from where I could see deep down to the forests covered with snow. But finally I got to the hospital where Kelly, the girl I met a day before on this trip was waiting for me. She was a very good friend by now and funny too as she was taking her own picture lying in the bed next to mine when doctor had kept me under observation.

20130720_132849

This is me just before I had a fall

Ski Down

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was hard enough to walk but then we decided to take pictures while going back from the hospital as the view was just stunning. Here are the pics of me and my friend Kelly after the whole concussion episode.

20130720_163608 20130720_16361720130720_163528

We got back to the bus on time before it left back to the hostel and I had the story of the town by now as everyone knew in the bus that I had an accident and people started asking me what happened. But that was a difficult question to answer specially when I didn’t remember much. So what happened the next day? Did I ski anymore or not? Lets wait for my next post and see what do I do. Some more pics and some stories to come πŸ™‚

11 comments on “Concussion on a Ski Trip – Lost few memories but gained many more

  1. Pingback: Concussion couldn’t stop me from skiing – Pain is temporary, but if I quit then it will last forever | Talking Experience

  2. Oh my goodness Kavita! You poor girl. Know the feeling of “lostness” from concussion. It’s weird, funny AND scary all at the same time.

  3. I hope you’re A-Okay now ! I can relate to temporary amnesia. I once bumped my head… later, I couldn’t remember how I got that big bump on my head.

    • awe u poor thing..Yes its painful to be honest specially because I had to be back at work as others were on leave this week and its bit difficult to focus on work and not this pain all the time…but I hope I will get better by next week πŸ™‚ Thanks a lot Ren…I really appreciate you asking πŸ™‚ Friends like you have kept me going here as well

Leave a Reply

