Travel Myths

 

         20130602_191753

  • It is very expensive
  • I do not have a job so I can not travel as of now
  • I have a family and travel is for single people
  • I have pets and I can not leave them to travel
  • I have a good job so I can not travel
  • I may get killed or abducted
  • I am a responsible person so I can not leave everything and go travelling
  • I am not crazy to go travelling myself people will think I am mad
  • Not now but someday I might get a chance to travel
  • It’s not safe to travel alone
  • How can I travel alone as my partner and friends are not interested in travelling
  • I am vegetarian so I can not travel as I might not find good food
  • My family might not like it
  • I do not know many languages, how will I survive in foreign land
  • I do not have to run away from anything so why travel
  • Break in my career would not look good so I can not travel
  • I have a mortgage for house/car/education so its not possible for me to travel
  • I watch all the places in TV and travel show so why travel
  • I am not sure where to go as world is so big
  • Its not a good time to travel in this economy
  • I am too young to travel alone
  • I am too old to travel alone
  • No one travels alone from my culture, what would other people say
  • I am not retired yet as then I can go travel when I would have more time

We have so many excuses/myths not to travel even when we dream to go to beautiful places to experience wonderful new cultures, food and interaction with different people. So what can you do? Open a notepad and start writing why would you want to travel and I am damn sure that the reason to travel will outnumber the reason why you are not able to travel. Life is short and if you like travelling then nothing should stop you other than procrastination. So stop making excuses and book your next destination as even when you can’t leave your job and go away for long time, but you can always plan short trips with family, friends or your own wonderful company.

I had never travelled alone in my country as my parents would not let me go even to the next town alone. And my brother would always tag along wherever I went. Not that I didn’t like his company but I never really got the confidence that I can make it alone. But here I am after many years, travelling solo almost everywhere for last 2.5 years after my first solo adventure to Fiji. So if I, a single Indian girl, can do it then so can you. Just need to take a step at a time and then you will see that a whole new world of opportunities is waiting for you.

Happy and safe travels!

10 comments on “Travel Myths

  1. I still worry about you. You are absolutely correct. There are no real excuses for anyone not to travel. If I wanted to travel, I would prefer going alone. I have the time and the means to travel, but it just does not interest me. I do enjoy reading about your travel though!

    • Hi George, you are so sweet to say this…but what I have realised to be true is that you never know how long the life is , so better to live it all than living is worrying and also I have always been very planned and careful with things so I think I am being bold and trying to get out of my comfort zone a little bit. And see where it has taken me – I am friends with some amazing people like you by sharing my experiences…I love to share the feelings and experience I get through my travels 🙂

Leave a Reply

