Bucket-List 2013 Week 22 – Complete Advanced Scuba diving course

 

 

Hello My Lovely Bloggers,

A big hug to all from me. I had an amazing few month since I have started this bucket-list for this year. And I am back to share some more adventure with you. You know I have 50 items of all sorts of things on my bucket list for 2013. Here is also a link for the same if you haven’t had a look.

My Promise to live life – My BucketList 2013

A little bit different and another post about the fears I have in my life with a reflection of other reader’s experiences along with it.

My Fears

You must be wondering what did I do this item, which item did I cross off from my big list. So here you go.

 

Diving in the Great Barrier Reef

Item Number #43 – Complete Advanced Scuba diving course

It was not until I was reading my own bucket list, I had time to think about diving for a while. Then I saw this item on my list – Advanced open water course in diving. Suddenly I realised it’s time to learn some thing more in diving and get back to water after a while. It was such a nice feeling to think about the course and it made it easier to get up early in the morning on the weekend to get to Manly which is a train and a ferry away (almost 1.5 hours) from me. I was there all excited except one fact in my mind. I had recently watched the movie – Open Water, where this couple was left in the ocean after diving by mistake and that actually made me a bit sceptical about this sport now. So I asked the instructor in the diving company to make sure that he remembers to bring me back. Everyone laughed at first but then I did explain the reason behind my worry. I don’t mind dying one day but if I do die for some stupid reason then it won’t be fun really and there is so much to see before getting eaten alive by sharks or die due to cold in water really.

So here I was back into the ocean and on our first dive. It was so bumpy on the way as the weather was not in our favour. But somehow the skipper anchored at one place and then we jumped into the water all geared up and after doing the buddy check (the safety check that one does on their buddy in diving as people are paired up generally in diving). We started to decent when the skipper called the instructor and asked to get back the boat as the anchor was being dragged due to the current and it didn’t look like a safe sign. So we came back to the boat and after a while we found another place to do out first dive. I had trouble equalizing today as my ears were blocked. A girl had already dropped out of the course after the first rough encounter with the waves so I was a bit nervous myself. But I couldn’t just give up, specially after 18  dives I had done so far. I was determined to get to the bottom and so I did. It was painful for a while as I felt as if my head would burst . But finally I got better and did the first dive properly. After the first dive we had time for snacks and I have been eating so much lately that it became my favourite time during the dives when we were served hot pies and other Thai snacks. I loved it even though I was a bit suspicious about being too full just before the second dive. But anyways just like the first dive again it was a bit hard today to equalize but fortunately I was able to complete this dive too. Now it was time to get back to the store and go for the night dive. I had never done three dives, all in one day so I was a bit tired but enthusiastic at the same time. And this time I had less weight on me due to the different sizes of weight belts in the store as compared to the boat, hence no matter what I did it was just hard to stay in the bottom and I would just come back to surface all the time. Yes, it’s hard for me to sink…lol. Then the instructor put some more weight in my pocket and then I was able to enjoy rest of my dive with others.

Next day we had to go a bit late for rest of the two dives that included the deep dive. Even though I was on time for the ferry but there were so many people in Sydney harbour today to go to Manly that the ferry was full twice and my heart was almost sinking thinking how am I going to get there now. Fortunately we were able to board the next boat and then I realized the bay I was aiming to reach was no near Manly. I called the store and asked the people there to wait for me so that I can join the group from the store. I took off my footwear and started running barefoot. It was funny as I was the only girl in a nice dress but running barefoot. People kept staring at me but now more important was to get to the store before the group leaves me behind. I got there all huffing and puffing and the instructor even made a joke out of it. But I was so happy as if I had done the course already. And there we go for our next two dives. It was nice and calm water today so not much trouble finding a nice spot in the blue fish point. Even better that I did not have trouble equalizing today. Hence I did descent slowly but effectively today. Then I realized my cylinder was coming off. Wow that was a news now as I didn’t know whether to stop descending or go to the surface but then my instructor asked me to keep going and I felt that he was making sure that my cylinder is still attached to my jacket a little. Then on the bottom (20 meter), he asked me to sit so that he can fix it. So I followed his instruction and he did fixed it. Man that was a bit scary initially as it would have been an emergency ascent in case the cylinder would have come off anyhow.

We all successfully completed both the dives with some snacks. It was a wonderful feeling while coming back thinking about the two days we spent training ourselves and learning about various technical stuff that would be useful in future. Thank you all for your time to read about my weekend and now I have ticked off another item from my list. Hurrah.

28 comments on “Bucket-List 2013 Week 22 – Complete Advanced Scuba diving course

  1. Pingback: My promise to myself for 5 years to live life fully: First installment is here already – Bucket List 2013 | Talking Experience

  2. Hope you’ve had fun! 😀 Happy October, my friend!

    May this month be a fun-filled and beautiful one for you and your loved ones!

    Take care and be well, always~ Cheers!! 😀

    • Awesome…you would love it just remember to stay calm as that’s the key most of the time and breathe ….let me know how it goes…I would look forward to may be read about your experience Malcolm…once you are under water there is so much to explore…a whole new world really 🙂 Good luck dear

  3. Pingback: Bucket-List 2013 : Practice Indoor Rock Climbing | Talking Experience

Leave a Reply

