Bucket-List 2013 – Canyoning

Hello My Dear Friends,

I am back with some good news about this week as I have got some update for my bucket list  from last week.

Here is also a link for my bucket list for 2013 if you haven’t had a look. My Promise to live life – My BucketList 2013

A little bit different and also another post about the fears I have in my life with a reflection of other reader’s experiences along with it. My Fears

Item Number #31:  Canyoning

4587523941 4587524256 4596611505 4596612602

It was already late when I got home after a night with karaoke and dancing but I had to get up in few hours from now so I put a couple of alarms on my phone as always and put myself to bed as quickly as possible. I had a good and a bad day. Good because the work went ok in many days with not much stress and also I was able to do another item on my bucket list – Karaoke, bad because my phone was dropped into water and I lost the display due to it and also it was more sitting than dancing in a Cuban bar today. But anyways no where I was with no packing done and I knew that I was living at the edge by being this careless and by being out this late when I had to go canyoning and abseiling the next day and had to be in the city by 6:45 AM in the morning.

My alarm rang and I felt as if someone was calling me from a distance. I must be dreaming but I was out of bed by 5:15 AM which was pretty good considering I went to bed around 1:30 AM. Yes I know I should be more careful before a big day full of adventure and may be because this year is slipping out of my hand so I am trying to squeeze as many things as possible. But next year I would try to take more rest 🙂

I arrived at the train station but there was no train until another 17 minutes that would get me city by 6:50 AM and I was worried sick now to get late but then I realized I don’t have to take a train and I ran to catch a bus. Yes my weekends are usually more hectic and includes a lot of running due to occasional delay from my end. I know, I know I am working on it 😉 I arrived at the pick up location on time and it was not a sunny day and my friend there informed me of upcoming storm that was not a good news either. I was joking that we should change the plan and may be go to some other nice place for relaxing and touring than canyoning. We were soon picked up from there and now we were on the way to the southern highlands where we were supposed to do canyoning in the beautiful rainforest.

Soon we were gearing up and checking what exact gear fits us for canyoning as there was a 30 minutes walk to the place from where we would start abseiling. The first drop itself was the scariest one I felt as after that canyoning and abseiling was no more a fear for me but something else was. And it was jumping into the deep water from various high places. I have never jumped into water from any height in my life and it was fear of height mixed with the fact that you go under the water when you land. Even though I love sky diving and have tried bungy jumping this was a fear I realized I had deep in my heart. And today was the day when I would face it and would have no other choice but to get over it.

The first abseil was ok apart from few bumps here and there and that was good enough to get the fear out of my mind other than the fact I learned to slow down myself and tell myself not to worry about how much time it takes to get down as long as I try to follow the instructions properly not to bump myself into the rock much. Then there came the jumping part when I was the last person other than the guide there to jump. I literally begged him to choose another way to get down but he asked me that I need to do this in order to do other jumps and get comfortable. Hence here I was standing there for quiet some time as every time I would get close to the edge I could feel my heart beating faster and faster from almost 3 meter height. But at last I felt embarrassed as everyone else was waiting for me and I was holding up the whole group hence I did jump from there with my heart in my mouth. Wow it was some achievement I could feel as my heart was still pumping fast. But then there was another jump where I was second one to go and another one where you have to let go the rope and jump backwards after a little bit of abseiling and then there was this jump where you have to make sure you jump far enough not to hit the rock on the way. Boy this time I did scare everyone as when I jumped I was a meter or less away from the rock and it was a serious risk to my head that I couldn’t see coming.

I had always thought to get a proper training in a pool from a instructor to jump into the water like this. But I didn’t know that I would end up jumping with no formal training and directly into wilderness area where there was no one to save me just in case I get seriously injured. But any ways it has become a milestone of my life now as towards the end we had a slide to jump into the water and there were some volunteer jumps as well from 8.5 meter to 12 meters. And guess what I wanted to do the slide again but then half way back to slide I was standing at this 8.5 meter high place from where others had jumped and I felt the urge to get over my fear and jump from there. I was standing there when others started counting and it made my heart jump really. And the more I stood there jumping became almost impossible. But now it was more a matter of winning over my fear of height and water as I had seen others jumping from such height and still be safe. For many of you this might be like a joke but seriously for me it was such a fear that almost made me feel that I might even die if I jump into the water from this height. But I am really happy that I did it and now I think next time I wouldn’t have this fear in me anymore 🙂

Special thanks to the instructors from Eagle Rock Adventure for their support and good training for the day – http://eaglerockadventures.com.au/

Regards,

Kavita

7 comments on “Bucket-List 2013 – Canyoning

  1. Pingback: My promise to myself for 5 years to live life fully: First installment is here already – Bucket List 2013 | Talking Experience

Leave a Reply

