Bucket-List 2013 – Learn martial arts

Hello My Lovely Fellow Bloggers,

A smile and hug from Sydney. I had an amazing weekend this time like many others and I am back to share some stories and experience with you including my bucketlist adventure. Here is a link for my bucket list if you haven’t read it yet.

My Promise to live life – My BucketList 2013

A little bit different and another post about the fears I have in my life with a reflection of other reader’s experiences along with it.

My Fears

Item #26: Learn martial arts

I have been learning Jujitsu for last many weeks now. I am still a beginner and planning to continue next year as well to make sure I get better at it. I have been a big fan of martial arts movie all my life and this year – thanks to my bucket list I was finally able to convert my dream into reality and it was such an amazing feeling to stand in-front of the instructor wearing my new Gi. It started with lot more enthusiasm as I was not injured and I could easily manage the new techniques I was learning but gradually I started getting sore and it became harder to practice more often hence I had to drop my attendance from 4 times a week to 2 times a week. And Salsa also got me injured on my feet and I had to make sure I don’t get bashed too much and protect my feet from any blow. I am getting better at it I must say as being a girl this is something I was never used to of. But now getting injured or sore and being thrown on the mat seems like a normal activity. I still want to go to the origin martial art places in China and practice to handle my chi energy one day. As of now I must practice what I am learning and focus on techniques as being small and light weight from other guys in the class it is very important for me to use more techniques than strength as otherwise it is very easy for me to get beaten while spiring. I didn’t get  a chance to take my picture in the Gi but next year when I get a little bit better, I would post more about my experience of martial arts and specially Brazilian Jujitsu (style I am learning) as a girl.

Regards,

Kavita

15 comments on “Bucket-List 2013 – Learn martial arts

  1. Pingback: My promise to myself for 5 years to live life fully: First installment is here already – Bucket List 2013 | Talking Experience

  2. Kavita, I am pleased to tell you that I’ve awarded you the Blog of the Year Award 2013! There’s no obligation to accept, I understand completely if you don’t. Anyway, thanks for reading and liking my blog “adicanada” I appreciate your support. For details about the award, please see my post http://wp.me/p3ujR2-hg Have a Happy Holiday and All the best for you on the New Year!! Adrian B.

    • Thanks Ranu…m in LA right now reading your comment and sipping a coconut smoothie…cant complain really 🙂 you hav an awesome time dear ..n hope the new year brings a lot more happiness n joy in life!

  3. Great job on your endeavor, Kavita! I’ve always admired and supported anyone who wanted to pursue learning martial arts for the RIGHT reasons. The ability to defend but also the inner, spiritual contentment of the true art and inner self. You are going to do fantastic and keep pushing forward! I’m a huge, huge Bruce Lee movie fan btw!! 🙂

    • Is that right Mike as I am a huge fan of Bruce Lee myself….glad to connect here really..and yes its a bit hard but I think I would continue on this path as its a self realization journey I feel and you discover more about yourself when you take it

Leave a Reply

